A call to action

I’ve never been one for much charity.

I did a few volunteer hours in the local food co-op when I was in college (to get a discount on the food I bought there.)

I’ve put money in the offering plate when I went to church (because it would have seemed strange NOT to).

I’ve checked the box on the tax return (because it didn’t cost me anything to do it.)

I’ve walked in a few charity fun-walks (because I wanted the T-shirt).

But generally this whole GIVING thing has left me, well, just a little bit cold?  Although I am considerably older than most of the ‘me’ generation, my attitude has usually been, ‘me and mine first.’

So I was surprised when I took at look at the activities scheduled through the Blog Action Day, on October 15th, focusing this year on Poverty and something clicked.  Yeah, I thought.  I can buy into this.  And I will.

Over the coming weeks, stay tuned as I explore my actions, reactions and wonder-whys to the whole concept of giving:  what are the myths, what are the realities, what are the psychological implications of giving and of not giving.  Expect a jaundiced world weary view of the whole process, and expect to be surprised.

If you have a blog and would like to join in as well, you can get further information at: http://blogactionday.org/.  Join the rest of us 3,320 Bloggers and counting.  It’ll be fun.

About Intrepid Explorer

By writing we discover the world
This entry was posted in -People- and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

