3 Even FASTER ways to battle Fast Food Cravings

I admit it. For years I was the Queen of Fast Foods. Burger King, Wendys, Taco Bell. I was the connoisseur of the best fries (McDonalds), the tastiest burger (Burger King), the best shake (Wendys). 

And no wonder. Fast food is tasty, convenient, comforting on the drive home after a long day. 

It wasn’t anonymous, however. The drive-thru help at McDs got to know my car, if not me, and would helpfully suggest when it needed a wash!

But over the years, the weight has started to creep on in places I’d rather not mention, and it’s time for a change.

I’d like to share what I am doing in the hopes that perhaps it might help someone else with the same issue:

1. I found out exactly how many calories were in my favorites

Each fast food emporium has its own nutrition guide online. You can print them off (I did) and calculate how expensive the cheap, economical fare actually is. 

I did this in a rational moment this morning after breakfast, when I wasn’t hungry. Good thing. 

A sample of what I found: The peanut buster parfait at Dairy Queen weighs in at a mega 700 calories (14 points for WeightWatchers). 

A large Wendys chocolate frosty is 530 calories (12 points WW). 

A Sonic Burger is 650 calories (15 points WW), but is topped by a Burger King Whopper at 680 calories (16 points WW). 

A McDonalds Big Mac is the relative lightweight at 540 calories (13 points WW). Sigh!

Check out your own favorites.  You may be surprised.

2. Next I looked at strategies to slow down my consumption of fast food

Distraction: Temptation usually comes on the way home in the form of a split second decision: Do I turn right into McDs or left to continue home? I usually don’t have to stay ‘good’ for long. 

To distract me in these moments of weakness, I have speed dialed my radio to a loud heavy metal station. One push of the button, and it goes on to provide some background music. I ask myself, do I really want to do this?

Change the lane: I have plotted some alternative ways home that don’t go past my favorite places.

Visual reminder: I am laminating copies of the calorie counts and point totals to place in both my car and on the fridge.

Pre-intervention: I usually hit the fast food lane when I am tired, hungry, stressed. Before leaving work, I am going to try a few moments of meditation, a centering exercise, or perhaps some soothing self-talk.

I am experimenting with keeping healthier snacks in the car (baby carrots, power bar, nuts).

3. Finally, and most important, I set up a potent feedback loop.

I think one of the reasons that I don’t stay on a healthy eating plan is that I fall off the wagon after a week or so. 

To become more aware of my progress, I am scheduling a weekend check-in time.  I am setting aside 10 minutes or so for a check in to see how well I did, what problems I ran into, and how I can intervene better next week.

Weight goes on not in big chunks and gobs, but rather, by slow bits and pieces: 100 calories here, 200 calories there.  Over years it adds up to pounds that don’t go away.

I am ready for a change.  My resolution has shifted and this time feels different.  I am ready to battle for what is important to me, my good health.

Tell me, what has worked for you?

RELATED POSTS:

Eating gets my full attention
3 Even FASTER ways to battle Fast Food Cravings
How to cultivate healthy habits and keep them working for you
Dieting ambiguity: Dealing with supporters who are saboteurs
Diet planning made simple
Tips & Strategies for dieting in the public eye
17 best motivational diet books of all time
Power boost your diet using these time management tips

 

About Intrepid Explorer

By writing we discover the world
This entry was posted in -Self-, Dieting, Health & Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

