Thankful for Gifts Differing

Peterborough Cathedral, stained glass window, ...

Image via Wikipedia

I believe that we all have different gifts, some that we use, some latent, that we could use, if we only believed in their existence. And all such gifts have both positive and negative elements to them.

Take perfect pitch, for example. I’ve talked to people who have it and for them, listening someone singing off key feels just like fingernails on the proverbial blackboard.

Photographic memory is another special gift. But I understand that it is hard to turn off–that people who have it end up with memorized cereal boxes and insurance flyers, in addition to the formulas for chemistry finals.

I also believe that some individuals are more sensitive to energy flows than others. I do feel it on occasion and I imagine that you have, as well. Ever visit an empty school room, or perhaps a church (those with lots of stained glass are the best) and feel a good energy flow that spices the air with quiet and peace?

I once stayed at a bed and breakfast set in a renovated old school. Each guest had this immense suite that used to be a classroom, complete with old fireplace and real slate blackboards. It was delightful! And yes, that evening I could hear the laughter of the children, if only in my dreams.

So when I had brunch with a special friend recently I was not surprised when she recounted an unusual experience. During a 24 hour period, her pets went ballistic. A cat upchucked in a water dish that a dog then drank all the contents of and promptly had a massive attack of diarrhea (inside the house, of course). A food dish was broken into smithereens, with pieces scattered all over the room. All the household pets were profoundly spooked.

On the other hand, my friend told me she then slept soundly the night after. The best sleep she had had in some time. In fact, she said, she woke up three times thinking, “This is the best sleep I have ever had!”

So was there energy afoot? Maybe too strong for animals but just right for humans?

Or was it just coincidence?

Victoria Moran in her great book Younger by the Day: 365 Ways to Rejuvenate Your Body and Revitalize Your Spirit talks about coincidences as being gifts from life. She says that you may be able to encourage and expect them.

“Anticipate meeting someone who has the answer to a question that’s been troubling you. Presume that you’ll run into the person or information that will make your life easier. Know that when you phone a friend who says, ‘I was just thinking about you,’ you’re right on target with the rhythm and flow of all that is.”

Jung used the word synchronicity to describe what he called “temporally coincident occurrences of acausal events.” This belief that events linked together serendipitously became the basis for his theories of archetypes and the collective unconscious.

For myself, I often wonder if there are not things (or beings) afoot that we only glimpse out of the corner of our eye. When that happens, I begin to sense that more is going on than I am able to see, just yet.

So whoever you are, and where ever you roam, thank you! I am grateful for gifts received. 

About Intrepid Explorer

By writing we discover the world
This entry was posted in -People- and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

