An Ode to the Coke I am Foregoing

Old and new Diet Coke cans.

Old and new Diet Coke cans. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

List of ingredients:Coke, original formula [carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, phosphoric acid, natural flavors, caffeine] Caffeine content: 34 mg

Diet coke [carbonated water, caramel color, aspartame, phosphoric acid, potassium benzoate (to protect taste), natural flavors, citric acid, caffeine] Phenyketonuirics: Contains phenylalanine.  Caffeine content: 46 mg

Being that Diet Coke is my drink of choice, this comparison surprised me.  Diet Coke has more caffeine than regular (although still about one-half less than a strong cup of coffee) and Diet Coke actually has more ingredients than regular. Not good.

So why do I drink it? Hard to say.  I made the switch from leaded to diet many years ago, but I still cling to the zero calorie kind.

1. Habit, of course.  I like that hard punch of acid in my mouth–bad for teeth but like the bubbles.

2. It gives me a pick-me-up at midday.

3. It is something ‘cool’ to order when the waitress comes around.  Expensive, though.  Have you ever noticed the drink tab when the check comes around?

4. I don’t like the sluggish feeling when I do go cold turkey.  All that lethargy is not fun.

5. Availability.  It’s always around.  When it’s not, I go buy some more.

But do I need it?  Would my life be irreparably harmed without it?

Maybe it’s time to quit.  Stay tuned.

About Intrepid Explorer

By writing we discover the world
This entry was posted in changing habits, diet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

